In Recession, Oyo govt has just approved 35 new LCDAs

Inspite of the current economic challenges facing the country, the Oyo State Government has approved the creation of 35 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) from the existing 33 councils in the state.

Mr. Gbade Ojo, the Chief of Staff to Governor Abiola Ajimobi, told journalists in Ibadan on Tuesday that the move was in accordance with the advice of the House of Assembly, which argued that, for effective grassroots development, the new LCDAs were important.

Under the new council arrangement, Ibadan zone will get 14 councils, while Ibarapa zone will get two more councils. Four councils will be added to Oyo zone, Ogbomoso zone will get seven and Oke-Ogun area will get eight.

Presently, Oyo State has 33 council areas, but with the new move, the state will be divided into 68 council areas, with 35 new councils having LCDA status.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: