Nigerian emerges West African Parliamentary Press Corps’ Scribe

Member countries of the West African Parliamentary Press Corps (WAPPC), have unanimously elected a Nigerian, Mr. Ezrel Tabiowo, as the Secretary General of the regional body.

The election came ahead of the a Symposium and Media summit which held in Accra, Ghana.

The West African countries which presently constitute the membership of WAPPC are parliamentary reporters from Ghana, Nigeria, Togo, Sierra Leone, Gambia, Benin Republic and Liberia.

Tabiowo, who is presently the Chairman of Nigeria’s Senate Press Corps, while addressing WAPPC members after his election as Secretary-General, thanked his colleagues for the confidence reposed in him.

He gave the assurance that he would not relent in his effort towards reaching out to other countries in the West African sub region.

He said: “I want to sincerely thank my colleagues present today for voting unanimously to have me elected as Secretary General of the West African Parliamentary Press Corps.”

“Let me assure you that going forward, I shall devote my time and energy towards driving the growth of the association, and as well ensuring that other countries in the sub region are brought on board,” he added.

Tabiowo also urged parliamentary reporters in the sub region to remain committed to the ethics of the Journalism profession, as well as ensure the defense of democracy in parliamentary reportage.



Ezrel Tabiowo, newly elected Secretary General of the West African Parliamentary Press Corps (WAPPC)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: