Wike dissolves 17 LG caretaker committees

THE Rivers State Governor, Chief Nyesom Wike, on Thursday dissolved the Caretaker Committees of 17 out of the 23 local government areas in the state.

Wike’s decision to dissolve the caretaker committees is coming on the heels of the suspension of the State Head of Service, Mr. Rufus Godwins, four commissioners and one special adviser.

Though no reason was given for the development, the governor, through his Special Adviser on Electronic Media, Mr. Simeon Nwakaudu, said the dissolution of the LG caretaker committees would take immediate effect.

“Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, has dissolved the Caretaker Committees of 17 Local Government Areas of the state.

“The dissolution of the caretaker committees takes immediate effect,” the statement issued in Port Harcourt read.

The statement listed the affected councils as Abua/Odual, Akuku-Toru, Ahoada East, Andoni, Bonny, Eleme and Emohua.

Others are Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni, Omuma, Oyigbo, Port Harcourt City, Etche, Ikwerre, Obio/Akpor, Ogu/Bolo and Okrika and Tai.

The statement, however, directed the affected caretaker committees’ chairmen to hand over to the most senior officials in their respective councils.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.