Uzodimma In Early Lead, Wins 17 Of Imo’s 27 LGAs

Governor Hope Uzodimma of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won 17 of the 27 local government results announced so far in the November 11, 2023 governorship poll.

Collation of results at the State Collation Centre started around 02:30am on Sunday in Owerri, the state capital, with the Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Oye Ekiti, Prof Abayomi Fashina, as the state Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for the election.

Though 18 parties fielded candidates in the poll, this year’s governorship election in Imo State has been described by analysts as a four-horse race between APC’s Uzodimma who is seeking re-election, Samuel Anyanwu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Labour Party’s Achonu Nneji and Jack Ogunewe of the Action Alliance.

As of the time of filing this report at 06:13am, none of the other candidates have won any local government.

The collation of results is, however, ongoing.

Like Imo, governorship elections were held in Kogi and Bayelsa on November 11, 2023, though the collation of results from the two states has been adjourned to Sunday morning.